Getting stronger.

I am amazed at how quickly my body has adapted to running. My breathing is better, my heart rate seems better… that first day I was short of breath after minutes and counting down until I could turn around and go home. My past few runs have lasted 45+ minutes and I recover quickly too!!

 

I am not fast.

 

and I stink.

 

I start with walking fast for 5-10 minutes then run as far as I can.

 

Walk.

 

Run.

 

Walk.

 

Run

 

Walk.

 

Run.

 

You get the idea.

 

I pretty much run as far as I can then walk until I recover then run as far as I can again and so on.

 

Today I would look ahead of me & focus on something…a mailbox, a tree, etc. and not stop running until I got to whatever it was and that seemed to work pretty good. It’s a good thing I have poor eyesight though. 😉

 

My last 2 runs have averaged a 13 minute mile, much slower than I thought. I WAS aiming for something ridiculous like an 8 minute mile by the end of my 3 months but I feel like 10-10.5 might be more attainable and realistic.

 

My playlist today was 90’s rock, the stuff I loved back when I was skinny & DID run an 8 minute mile! It made me think I could run a whole mile without walking but after 2 blocks my butt literally detached itself from my body, bounced around in front of me & smacked me in the face for thinking such a thought. I was scared so I just walked for the next few blocks.

 

ps. not a runner yet.

4 responses to “Getting stronger.

  • radiant girl

    I remember when I started running a couple years ago, I could only run for 2 minutes then I would have to stop and rest. But, I got up to about 20 mins of straight running. Exciting! Love your blog!
    P.S. I’m not currently running but sometimes think about doing a 5k.

  • Rhiannon

    You are so a runner. Only runners run, you see. I’m impressed!!! And, I’m laughing about your butt hitting you in the face. 🙂

  • runandcook

    love the butt comment too!! And you ARE a runner.. have you tried a training program that may help you to see your progress? I started with the C25K program and even now (three 5ks this year) if i have a crappy run (like today) i think back to when 30 seconds scared me and how much progress I have done. It takes time, but you ARE a runner. 🙂

  • BillC

    Second the “You are so a runner.” During a January race this one woman – clearly a *runner* – would run past me, then stop running & walk for a while. I’d pass her, then a little while later she’d pass me again, then she’d walk. She finished ahead of me. though not by much. 🙂

    Lots of people use a run walk run style, especially while working up gradually to goal distances.

    Go you!

Leave a Reply

